El Salvador City is a 6th class component city in the province of Misamis Oriental, Philippines. According to the 2015 census, it has a population of 50, 204 people.

The City serves as a pilgrimage site for divine mercy devotees, that is why it is also called the City of Saviour, City of Mercy, and the Divine Mercy City of the Philippines.



El Salvador was created was created from the barrios of El Salvador and Molugan with their sitios known as Sala, Sambulawan, Sinaloc, Lagtang, Lagtang, Talaba, Kalabaylabay, and Hinigdaan, formerly part of Cagayan de Misamis, Misamis Oriental in 1948. 

Hinigdaan was a ranch during the Spanish periods the areas covers the parts of Kalabaylabay where the Djangjo’s have 300 hectares of land and hundreds of cows. The areas was famous of cattle ranching towards the areas of Tugasnon Alubijid to Lourdes where the first municipality was located now transferred to Alubijid and Sikitun of Gitagum Misamis Oriental.

On June 27, 2007, the municipality of El Salvador becomes a city in the province of Misamis Oriental after ratification of Republic Act 9438.

The Supreme Court declared the cityhood law of El Salvador and 15 other cities unconstitutional after a petition filed by the League of Cities of the Philippines in its ruling on November 18, 2008. On December 22, 2009, the cityhood law of El Salvador and 15 other municipalities regain its status as cities again after the Supreme Court reversed its ruling on November 18, 2008. On August 23, 2010, the Supreme Court reinstated its ruling on November 18, 2008 causing El Salvador and 15 cities to become regular municipalities. Finally, on February 15, 2011, El Salvador becomes a city again including the 15 municipalities declaring that the conversion to cityhood met all legal requirements.

After six years of legal battle, in its board resolution, the League of Cities of the Philippines acknowledged and recognized the cityhood of El Salvador and 15 other cities.




El Salvador is located in the Province of Misamis Oriental in Northern Mindanao (Region X). It is bordered by the Municipality of Alubijid to the west, Opol to the east and Manticao and Naawan to the south. On the north, lies Macajalar Bay in the Bohol Sea.



Administratively, El Salvador is subdivided into 15 barangays. One forms the center of the city poblacion whereas the other 14 are in the outlying areas. Some of them are even several kilometers away from the center of the city.


  • Amoros
  • Bolisong
  • Cogon
  • Himaya
  • Hinigdaan
  • Kalabaylabay
  • Molugan
  • Pedro S. Baculio (Bolo-Bolo)
  • Poblacion 
  • Quibonbon
  • Sambulawan
  • San Francisco de Asis (Calongonan)
  • Sinaloc
  • Taytay
  • Ulaliman



The City of El Salvador is the Economic Capital of the Western part of Misamis Oriental with sustainable and diversified economy, safe environment, quality infrastructure, and empowered citizenry with competitive individuals inspired by transparent and firm leadership.



El Salvador City with its dynamic and competent leadership with people participation shall:


  1. Increase economic activities through a well-developed agro-industry, a sound management of forestall, agricultural, coastal, and marine sanctuaries;
  2. Sustain eco-friendly environment and establish globally competitive communication and transportation thereby deliver professionalized social services; and
  3. Capacitate people organization and LGU employees to manage fiscal and human sector.